Last updated: August 2026
HUB International is one of the largest insurance brokerages in North America — a $29 billion valuation, 21,000+ employees, and 700+ offices across the U.S. and Canada. Its HUB International Internship Program (HIIP) is ranked Vault's #4 Best Insurance Internship and is already accepting applications for summer 2027, paying $18–$22 per hour for paid placements that put you alongside working brokers in Commercial Lines, Personal Lines, Employee Benefits, and Retirement & Private Wealth.
Quick Facts
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Where to apply | HUB Internship Program Jobs |
| Application window (2027–28) | First posting live Aug 2026 · More cities expected Sep–Dec 2026 |
| Rolling? | Likely — HUB reviews applications daily per its recruiting process page; no deadline published |
| Eligibility | Third- or fourth-year student · Graduating Fall 2027 or Spring 2028 · No visa sponsorship |
| Duration | 8–10 weeks, full-time, hybrid or in-office |
| Compensation | $18–$22/hr depending on location (San Diego $18–$20; NYC/NJ/Chicago $22 in prior cycles) |
| Return offers | Top performers considered for full-time roles — no conversion rate published |
| Locations | San Diego · NYC · Berkeley Heights NJ · Chicago · more cities expected |
| # Tracks | 1 program (HIIP) with rotational placement across 4 practice areas |
HUB's summer 2027 internship cycle is open now. The first city-specific posting (San Diego) is live, with more offices expected to post in the coming weeks. Per-office headcounts are small (2 interns in NYC for the 2026 cycle), so apply early to your target city.
HUB's internship is live now, but only one city has posted so far. While you wait for your target office, build the financial analysis and client-engagement skills HUB's JDs ask for. The Yinan Zhao Investing & Financial Modeling Externship develops the analytical foundation insurance roles demand, and the HP Tech Ventures Deal Sourcing Externship builds client-facing research skills. Both run remotely. Explore all Externships.
What Is a HUB International Internship?
The HUB International Internship Program (HIIP) is a paid summer placement that rotates students through client service, sales, policy administration, research, and presentations at one of North America's largest insurance brokerages. Vault ranks it #4 among Best Insurance Internships and #7 for Best Internships for People of Color. HUB also earned National Intern Day Top 100 Internship Program recognition. The program is worth pursuing because it offers direct broker exposure with a structured path to full-time employment — HUB explicitly says top-performing interns are considered for full-time roles after graduation.

When Do HUB International Internship Applications Open for 2027–2028?
HUB posts city-specific internship requisitions with small headcounts at each office. The summer 2027 cycle's first posting went live in August 2026, roughly 10 months before the internship starts. In prior cycles, HUB announced applications opening via Instagram around late autumn, with additional city postings appearing through the winter.
The first summer 2027 posting (San Diego) is live right now. More city-specific postings are expected in the coming weeks. HUB's recruiters review applications daily and no deadline is published. Apply now if your target city has posted.
Based on the 2026 cycle, HUB will post individual requisitions for each participating office. Headcounts are small (2 per office in NYC for the 2026 cycle), so early applications have an advantage. No deadline has been published in any cycle.
Interviews: initial recruiter phone screen (described as relaxed phone calls), then hiring team interviews using the STAR method. Vault reviewers report a panel interview with up to six interviewers from the specific office.
Verbal offer, then written offer letter. HUB gives a couple of business days to review and accept. Background check (employment, education, criminal records) may take a few weeks. Start date flexible per HUB's process page.
8–10 weeks, full-time, hybrid or in-office depending on location. Speaker Series with HUB leaders, Capstone Project competing for prizes, mentorship, HUB Gives community service, and professional development workshops. Pay $18–$22/hr. Manager evaluations determine full-time offer eligibility.
How to read this page: our dates come from tracking previous recruiting cycles and daily posting data. Treat them as informed estimates based on historical patterns, not confirmed dates. The company's official careers page is always the most current source. If a role is posted there, go by that, even if this page suggests the window hasn't opened yet.
Why You Must Apply the Week Applications Open
HUB posts city-specific requisitions with small headcounts — the NYC office took only two interns in the 2026 cycle, and Vault reports 51 to 100 interns total across the entire program. HUB's recruiters review applications daily, meaning early applicants get seen first. There is no published deadline in any cycle, so the only safe move is to apply as soon as your target city posts. Waiting for all cities to appear risks finding your preferred office already filled.
Which HUB International Internship Programs Should You Target?
HUB runs one formal internship program (HIIP) with rotational placement across four insurance practice areas.
| Track | Focus | Duration | Key skills |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Lines | Business insurance — property, casualty, liability, workers' comp | 8–10 weeks, hybrid | Client engagement, policy administration, market research |
| Personal Lines | Individual and high-net-worth insurance — auto, home, umbrella | 8–10 weeks, hybrid | Client service, policy processing, data management |
| Employee Benefits | Group health, dental, vision, life, disability for employer clients | 8–10 weeks, hybrid | Benefits analysis, client reporting, presentations |
| Retirement & Private Wealth | Retirement plans, wealth management for high-net-worth individuals | 8–10 weeks, hybrid | Financial analysis, client support, compliance |
See all HIIP postings at HUB Internship Program.
What Are the Eligibility Requirements?
HUB's eligibility requirements are straightforward but include an absolute visa gate.
• Class year: Third- or fourth-year student (junior or senior). The 2027 posting specifies graduating Fall 2027 or Spring 2028.
• Experience: Less than one year of relevant experience (per the Workday field).
• Work authorization: HUB does not sponsor visas. Their recruiting FAQ states this explicitly and advises discussing work authorization status with the recruiter.
• Interest in insurance: Every JD lists enthusiasm for the insurance industry as a qualification. This is not decorative — interviewers ask "why insurance?" directly.

Does HUB International Have a GPA Cutoff for Interns?
HUB does not state a GPA in any of its job postings. Vault reports a minimum GPA range of 3.00 to 3.49 for the program, but this is Vault's field, not HUB's published gate. The requisitions emphasize enthusiasm for insurance, strong communication, and organizational skills rather than a numeric GPA cutoff. The absence of a GPA from HUB's own postings is genuine.
What Skills Does HUB International Look For, and How Do You Build Them?
HUB runs a single unified JD template for all HIIP postings, making the skill requirements highly consistent across offices and cycles. Communication and enthusiasm for insurance appear in every posting. Organizational skills, teamwork, and self-motivation are universal qualifiers. The program is relationship- and process-focused, not tool-focused — no HUB intern JD names a specific software tool or platform.
What HUB International looks for in interns
Skills across 5 HUB International intern & analyst job descriptions · 3 HUB International intern JDs
Skills across 3 HUB International intern JDs spanning three cycles (2025, 2026, 2027), read in full, August 2026. HUB runs a single JD template, so the count reflects consistent asks, not breadth.
How Is Demand for Insurance Brokerage Interns Moving Right Now?
Insurance brokerage intern hiring right now: August 2026
Aggregate market data, all employers
HUB's growth-by-acquisition model (700+ brokerages acquired since founding) drives steady intern demand. The program is small per office but expanding in reach as HUB acquires new firms.
Method: HUB careers portal, Vault profile, and PE sponsor press releases, August 2026.
Build These Skills Before You Apply
And every skill in that chart maps to a remote Externship.
| Skill (from real JDs) | JD evidence | Externship that builds it |
|---|---|---|
| Written & verbal communication | JD: "Prepare presentations and reports that communicate findings to internal stakeholders" | HP Tech Ventures Deal Sourcing |
| Organizational skills | JD: "Organized, able to juggle multiple priorities" | Amazon Fulfillment Center Operational Strategy |
| Enthusiasm for insurance industry | JD: "Support analysis of U.S. insurance markets and emerging regional trends" | Yinan Zhao Investing & Financial Modeling |
These Externships build the analytical, client-facing, and market-research evidence HUB's requisitions reward — the transferable skills that prove you can support broker-client relationships.
What Is the HUB International Application and Interview Process Like?
HUB publishes a clear recruiting process on its careers site.
1. Find HIIP postings on the internship listings page. Go to HUB Internship Program Jobs. Look for postings titled "Summer Intern (HUB Internship Program)" — ignore the Courier and Development Program Associate roles.
2. Join the Talent Community. Sign up at HUB Talent Community to receive alerts when new city-specific postings appear.
3. Apply through Workday. Each posting routes to HUB's Workday portal. You will create an account and submit your resume.
4. Initial recruiter interview. Phone or virtual. Glassdoor reviewers describe it as a quick phone call with 2–3 questions like "why HUB" and "why insurance." HUB's process page says you will learn about the role and give the recruiter a snapshot of your background.
5. Hiring team interviews. Competency-based, behavioral (STAR method). Vault reviewers describe a panel interview with up to six interviewers from the specific office. HUB advises: questions often start with "Tell me about a time when..."
6. Decision and offer. Verbal offer followed by a written offer letter and background check. HUB gives a couple of business days to review and accept.
Read HUB's full recruiting process at Our Recruiting Process.
What Students on Reddit Say
Insurance brokerage internships are underrepresented on Reddit, but here is what professionals say about working at HUB.
Discussion of PTO, benefits, and work culture at HUB. One commenter mentions getting a summer internship offer. General sentiment is neutral to positive on the work environment, though some note limited PTO compared to other brokerages.
A discussion about breaking into top insurance brokerages like Marsh, WTW, and Gallagher. One reply specifically suggests applying with HUB International as a starting point and mentions internships for junior summer as an entry path.
How Do You Stand Out at HUB International?
First, apply to your target city the day it posts, because headcounts are tiny. The 2026 NYC posting specified a projected headcount of just two interns. Vault reports 51 to 100 interns total across the whole program — that is a handful per office, and HUB's recruiters review applications daily. Second, know the insurance industry before the interview. Every JD lists enthusiasm for insurance as a qualification, and Glassdoor reviewers report the direct question "why insurance?" Know the difference between Commercial Lines, Personal Lines, and Employee Benefits, and understand what a broker does versus an underwriter or a carrier. Third, prepare STAR-method examples because HUB tells you to. Their own recruiting process page states they use behavioral interviewing and recommend the STAR method. Prepare stories for teamwork, handling multiple priorities, and client service.

What Other Companies Should You Consider?
HUB International competes for insurance talent with the other major brokerages. Here is how the closest peers compare.
- Marsh McLennanThe largest global insurance broker with Mercer and Oliver Wyman subsidiaries diversifying well beyond brokerageCareers site
- AonSecond-largest global broker with strong actuarial, reinsurance, and data-analytics presenceCareers site
- Willis Towers WatsonThird of the big three global brokers and as much a consulting firm as a brokerageCareers site
- Arthur J. GallagherFourth-largest broker and an aggressive acquirer like HUB with a strong US middle-market focusCareers site
- Brown & BrownFifth-largest US broker with a decentralized, profit-sharing cultureCareers site
Compare all finance and insurance internships in our Finance Internships Guide.

FAQ
Is HUB International hiring summer 2027 interns?
Yes. The first summer 2027 posting (San Diego, CA) is live on HUB's careers site as of August 2026. More city-specific postings are expected in the coming weeks. HUB posts individual requisitions per office with small headcounts. Join the Talent Community to get alerts when your target city posts.
When do HUB International internship applications open?
They are open now. The summer 2027 cycle's first requisition went live in August 2026, roughly 10 months before the internship starts. In the 2026 cycle, HUB announced applications opening around late 2025 via Instagram. No deadline has been published in any cycle.
Does HUB International pay its interns?
Yes. The summer 2027 San Diego posting states $18 to $20 per hour. Previous cycles in New York, New Jersey, and Chicago paid $22 per hour. Pay varies by location. HUB also extends health, dental, vision, 401(k), and PTO benefits to interns per the job description.
What GPA does HUB require for an internship?
HUB does not state a GPA in its job postings. Vault reports a minimum GPA range of 3.00 to 3.49 for the program. The requisitions ask for enthusiasm for insurance, strong communication, and organizational skills rather than a numeric GPA cutoff.
Does HUB International sponsor visas for interns?
No. HUB's recruiting process FAQ explicitly states that HUB International does not sponsor visas. It advises candidates to discuss work authorization status with the recruiter during the initial conversation. This applies to all roles including internships.
How long is the HUB International internship?
The program page says 10 weeks in the U.S. and 17 weeks in Canada. All 2025 and 2026 postings confirmed 10 weeks. The first summer 2027 posting says 8 weeks, which may be a site-specific variant. Expect 8 to 10 weeks, June to August, full-time.
What is the HUB intern interview process?
Expect a phone screen with a recruiter, then one or more panel interviews with the local office team. HUB uses behavioral questions and recommends the STAR method. Vault reviewers describe a panel with up to six interviewers. Glassdoor rates intern interview difficulty at 2.7 out of 5.
Can HUB interns get full-time offers?
Yes. HUB's JD states that top-performing interns are considered for full-time roles across its US branches after graduation. The program page confirms that manager evaluations at key milestones determine full-time offer eligibility. HUB says many interns go on to full-time roles.
HUB's summer 2027 cycle is open now, and per-office headcounts are small. Build the client-facing and analytical skills HUB's JDs reward with a remote Externship — real professional experience you can point to in your STAR-method interview answers. Explore all Externships.
About the Author
Bifei Wang has spent 17 years focused on human flow and the growth of young professionals, spanning international education, career training and coaching, and recruitment process outsourcing. Over 7 years at Extern, he has had one-on-one sessions with thousands of students exploring careers in consulting, finance, tech, marketing, and data, giving him a firsthand view of how the job market has shifted for early-career professionals and what it actually takes to break in.


