Last updated: October 2026
The Washington Institute for Near East Policy runs one student internship: an 8-week paid summer program in its downtown Washington, DC office. It isn't open today. As of 16 October 2026 the Institute's Employment page lists no internship, and its summer 2026 listing appeared between 1 November and 16 December 2025 and closed on 15 February 2026. If the pattern holds, applications for summer 2027 are expected to open around November to December 2026 and close in February or early March 2027. In plain words: you apply during late 2026 or early 2027, you intern in summer 2027. The Institute describes itself as an independent, nonpartisan research organization on the Middle East, founded in 1985.
Quick Facts
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Where to apply | Washington Institute Employment page (the internship is listed there when open, with a link to an online form). No job-alert or talent network is listed, so check the page directly |
| Application window (2027–28) | Summer 2027 internship: expected to open ~Nov–mid-Dec 2026 and close ~mid-Feb to 1 Mar 2027, projected from two past cycles. Not yet posted as of 16 Oct 2026 |
| Rolling? | Not clear. Summer 2025 was reviewed on a rolling basis until a 1 March deadline; summer 2026 used a fixed 15 February deadline |
| Eligibility | Summer 2026 listing: undergraduates (rising juniors or seniors) interested in Middle East affairs and U.S. foreign policy. Summer 2025 also named Master’s students. GPA and work authorization not stated |
| Duration | 8 weeks, June to August, full-time |
| Compensation | Paid (“8-week paid internship”); the amount is not published |
| Return offers | No conversion rate published; the Institute calls its intern and research assistant programs “a pathway” for graduates |
| Locations | Washington, DC (downtown office); in-person attendance is mandatory |
| # Programs | 1 Summer Internship Program, with interns assigned to research programs by skills and interests |
Nothing is posted yet, and the Institute publishes no pay amount, class size or GPA. What we can document: an 8-week paid, full-time, in-person program, and two past windows that closed on 1 March 2025 and 15 February 2026. For summer 2027, watch the Employment page from November 2026.
Externships are short, remote programs where you finish a real project with a real organization, most commonly over 8 weeks. The Center for Improving Youth Justice Data Analytics Externship practices the policy-oriented data work a research team looks for, and the Pinterest Gen Z Consumer Behavior Externship builds audience-research and writing skills useful for publications and events. Explore all Externships.
What Is a Washington Institute Internship?
A Washington Institute internship is the Institute's Summer Internship Program: an 8-week paid internship, June to August, in the Washington, DC office of The Washington Institute for Near East Policy. Interns are assigned to one of the Institute's research programs based on their skills and interests, and they support research, publications and events, according to the Institute's own listing. The Institute is a 501(c)(3) organization that describes its mission as advancing a balanced and realistic understanding of American interests in the Middle East. It was founded in 1985 and says its scholars were quoted more than 3,600 times by news outlets in 2025. Graduates have a second route: the Young Scholars Program hires research assistants who are recent college graduates, which is separate from the internship.

When Do Washington Institute Internship Applications Open for 2027–2028?
The Institute doesn't use an applicant tracking system or a talent network: the internship appears on its Employment page when it's open, with a link to an online form. Archived captures of that page show the summer 2025 program first listed between 20 December 2024 and 1 January 2025, with applications reviewed on a rolling basis until 1 March 2025. The summer 2026 program appeared between 1 November and 16 December 2025, first said 1 March 2026, and was then revised to 15 February 2026. Archive captures are opportunistic, so these are bounds, not posting dates. Projected forward, a summer 2027 listing is expected around November to mid-December 2026, about six months before a June start, with a deadline in mid-February to early March 2027. Treat that as a low-to-medium confidence estimate: the last deadline moved two weeks earlier.
The door is closed, and that matches the pattern. The Employment page lists a Soref Fellow and two Development Assistant roles but no internship. Use these weeks to build the writing and research samples the listing asks for, since interns support research, publications and events.
Pick the regions or issues you can already follow, such as the Gulf, Turkey or energy, because interns are assigned to research programs by skills and interests. If you read a regional language, say so; the listing calls it a plus, not a requirement. Confirm you can be in Washington full-time for 8 weeks.
Applications for summer 2027 expected to be listed on the Employment page, projected from the summer 2026 listing, which appeared between 1 November and 16 December 2025. Check the page weekly from the start of November.
Applications for summer 2027 expected to close in this range, projected from past deadlines of 1 March 2025 and 15 February 2026. The Institute hasn't published a 2027 date, so go by the posting once it appears.
The 8-week summer 2027 internship, full-time and in person in the Washington, DC office, supporting a research program's publications, research and events.
How to read this page: our dates come from tracking previous recruiting cycles and daily posting data. Treat them as informed estimates based on historical patterns, not confirmed dates. The company's official careers page is always the most current source. If a role is posted there, go by that, even if this page suggests the window hasn't opened yet.
Why You Must Apply the Week Applications Open
The Institute's own page is the only authoritative source, and its window has been short. Summer 2026 ran from a listing date no later than 16 December 2025 to a 15 February 2026 deadline, roughly two to three and a half months, and the deadline moved two weeks earlier than the year before. Summer 2025 was reviewed on a rolling basis, which favors early submissions. The Institute doesn't publish a class size, so there is no way to know how many seats exist. Apply in the first weeks the listing appears rather than near the deadline.
Which Washington Institute Internship Programs Should You Target?
There is one internship, not a menu. The Summer Internship Program places interns in the Institute's research programs, so the real choice is which program you ask to join. The 2026 listing named the research areas below. Separate early-career routes are covered underneath.
| Program / Track | Focus | Duration | Key skills |
|---|---|---|---|
| Summer Internship Program (the internship) | Support research, publications and events in an assigned research program; areas listed include North Africa, the Levant, Israel and the Palestinians, Turkey, the Gulf, Iraq, Iran, energy, and military and security | 8 weeks, June–Aug, full-time, in person | Research support; clear writing; event planning support; regional knowledge preferred |
| Young Scholars Program (research assistants) | Research assistant roles for recent graduates, posted per research program (not an internship) | Posted per role | Regional language ability; Middle East background; research |
| Fellowships (e.g. Soref Fellow) | Postdoctoral-level research fellowship listed on the same page (not a student program) | Posted per role | PhD or equivalent; policy research |
The official source is the Employment page. The Young Scholars Program is aimed at recent graduates, so it's a next step, not an alternative for current students.
What Are the Eligibility Requirements?
What the Institute's listings state (the summer 2026 wording is the latest we could read):
• Class year: the summer 2026 listing was geared toward undergraduates, specifically rising juniors or seniors. The summer 2025 listing also named Master's students.
• Interest: interest in Middle East affairs and U.S. foreign policy; a Middle East and foreign policy background is preferred.
• Languages: Arabic, Farsi, Hebrew, Turkish, Kurdish, Russian or Chinese is described as a plus, but not required.
• Location and schedule: full-time, in-person attendance in the Washington, DC office is mandatory for the full 8 weeks.
• Not stated: the Institute's listings don't mention a GPA minimum, citizenship or work authorization, or a security clearance.

Is There a GPA Cutoff or Citizenship Requirement?
Neither appears in the listings we read. That's different from saying there is none, so check the posting when it goes live. The stated filters are class year, interest in the region, and being able to work full-time in Washington. Treat unlisted requirements as unknown, not as absent.
What Skills Does the Washington Institute Look For, and How Do You Build Them?
The Institute publishes no skills matrix, so the profile comes from one listing. Interns are expected to support research, publications and events, to communicate clearly and directly, and to work as team players in a fast-paced environment. Regional knowledge and a regional language are a plus. No software or tools are named for interns, so any tool skills are yours to show, not requirements to check off.
Note: Skill chart not shown: the Washington Institute posts no intern job descriptions to count across (its Employment page lists no internship today, and only the summer 2025 and summer 2026 listings could be read from archived captures). The skills above are quoted from those listings; this section will add a chart if the Institute posts more detailed descriptions.
How Is Demand for Policy Interns Moving Right Now?
Policy intern postings · Sep vs Aug 2026
vs 537 in August
For Washington Institute applicants: the Institute's own Employment page lists no internship today, so this card describes the wider policy market, not an open Institute role. Its summer 2026 listing appeared after the start of November.
Daily US job-posting counts, Sep 1–30 vs Aug 1–31, 2026. Covers under half of US postings; shows direction, not market size. Pay = median of employer-published ranges only (47 postings in September, 55 in August).
Build These Skills Before You Apply
No remote Externship replaces a regional research background, but these projects produce the kind of finished, public-facing work a research team can evaluate.
| Skill (from real JDs) | JD evidence | Externship that builds it |
|---|---|---|
| Research and source gathering | Listing: interns “support Institute research” | Center for Improving Youth Justice Data Analytics |
| Analysis of data for policy questions | Listing: research programs across regions and issues | Center for Improving Youth Justice Data Analytics |
| Audience insight for publications and events | Listing: support for “research, publications, and events” | Pinterest Gen Z Consumer Behavior |
| Clear, direct written communication | Listing: “communicate clearly and directly” | Beats by Dre Creative Advertising Strategy |
None of these replaces knowing a region. They do give you a finished project, a deliverable you can describe in a cover letter, and practice writing for a defined audience.
What Is the Washington Institute Application and Interview Process Like?
The Institute publishes the application steps only in outline, and it doesn't describe an interview process:
1. Watch the Employment page. The internship is listed on the Employment page when open. There is no job board listing or alert, so check it from early November.
2. Submit the online form. The summer 2026 listing linked to an online application form, and the summer 2025 listing gave a staff email for questions. Use whatever the live listing provides.
3. Interview steps: not published. The Institute doesn't say whether it interviews interns, how many rounds, or when decisions are sent.
4. Confirm logistics. The program is full-time and in person in Washington for 8 weeks, so plan housing and travel before you apply.
Because several details are unpublished, the safest preparation is a short writing sample, a clear statement of the regions or issues you follow, and a ready answer on availability.
What the Community Says
No first-hand Reddit thread about interning at the Washington Institute turned up, so there are no quote cards here. Community-reported Glassdoor ratings (individual reviews, employer name confirmed on the page) show 87% would recommend the Institute, with 4.5 for culture and 3.6 for compensation, the lowest of its category ratings. The review count wasn't shown, so treat the numbers as indicative.
How Do You Stand Out?
Three moves. First, name your program: interns are assigned by skills and interests, so a sentence about the region or issue you already follow, with one thing you've read or written about it, does more than general enthusiasm. Second, show writing: the listing asks for clear, direct communication, so attach or link a short brief, a news tracker or a project summary. Third, be ready early: the window has been two to three and a half months and the last deadline moved earlier, so have the materials done before the listing appears. The Institute doesn't publish an applicant count or a conversion rate.

What Other Companies Should You Consider?
The Institute sits among Washington think tanks that run student internships. These are the closest alternatives.
For more options across the sector, see our Nonprofit & Social Impact Internships Summer 2027 Guide.

FAQ
Can I still apply for a summer 2026 Washington Institute internship?
No. The summer 2026 internship closed on 15 February 2026 (the listing first said 1 March) and the 8-week program ran June to August. As of 16 October 2026 the Employment page lists no internship. The next window, for summer 2027, is expected to open around November to December 2026.
When does the Washington Institute summer 2027 internship open?
Not yet announced. The summer 2026 listing appeared between 1 November and 16 December 2025, and summer 2025 between 20 December 2024 and 1 January 2025. Expect roughly November to mid-December 2026 for summer 2027, shown on the Institute's Employment page. Treat that as an estimate, not a confirmed date.
What is the Washington Institute internship deadline?
No 2027 deadline is announced. Summer 2025 applications were reviewed on a rolling basis until 1 March 2025, and summer 2026 closed on 15 February 2026 after first saying 1 March. Expect mid-February to early March 2027, and go by the posting once it appears on the Employment page.
Is the Washington Institute internship paid?
Yes. The Institute's listing calls it an 8-week paid internship. It doesn't publish an hourly rate or stipend, so we can't state an amount. It also doesn't say whether housing or travel is covered. Confirm the figure in the offer, and don't rely on aggregator pay numbers.
Where is the Washington Institute internship and how long is it?
It runs 8 weeks between June and August, full-time, in the Institute's downtown Washington, DC office. The listing says in-person attendance is mandatory, and no remote or other-city intern location is listed. Plan housing and travel in Washington before you apply.
Who is eligible for the Washington Institute internship?
The summer 2026 listing was geared toward undergraduates who are rising juniors or seniors with an interest in Middle East affairs and U.S. foreign policy. Summer 2025 also named Master's students. GPA, citizenship and work authorization aren't stated, so read the live posting before you apply.
Do I need to speak Arabic or another language to intern at the Washington Institute?
No. The listing says Arabic, Farsi, Hebrew, Turkish, Kurdish, Russian or Chinese is a plus, but not required. A Middle East and foreign policy background is preferred. If you do read one of these languages, mention it and say how you've used it in research.
Does the Washington Institute offer fall or spring internships?
We found none. No fall or spring intern term appears on its Employment page in archived captures from August 2024 to September 2026. Only the summer program is listed. The Young Scholars Program hires recent graduates as research assistants, which is a different route from an internship.
The summer 2027 listing is expected around November to December 2026, with a deadline in mid-February to early March 2027. Check the Institute's Employment page weekly from November, and spend the gap building proof: a remote Externship turns "I follow this region" into a finished project your application can point to.
About the Author
Bifei Wang has spent 17 years focused on human flow and the growth of young professionals, spanning international education, career training and coaching, and recruitment process outsourcing. Over 7 years at Extern, he has had one-on-one sessions with thousands of students exploring careers in consulting, finance, tech, marketing, and data, giving him a firsthand view of how the job market has shifted for early-career professionals and what it actually takes to break in.


