Quick Facts
Red Hat internship · at a glance
17 U.S. postings, posted September 8 (14 of them) and September 10 (3), 2026. Apply early, and check the portal for every live role.
Before you applyWould your profile get you in?6 questions, under a minute. Compared with real interns who landed similar roles.Check my oddsAlso in this guide
Put real project work on your résumé, with the SQL & Database Architecture Externship with Breaking Games or the BeReal Product Management Externship.
Explore all externships →All quick facts
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Where to apply | Red Hat's job board, linked from the Early careers page. Apply to the specific posting and join the Talent Community for alerts. Red Hat runs its own program and board, separate from IBM's |
| Application window (2027–28) | Open now for summer 2027: 17 U.S. postings, posted September 8 (14 of them) and September 10 (3), 2026. Red Hat's job system schedules every one to end on November 13, 2026, which the postings' text doesn't state as a deadline. Summer 2028: expected early to mid September 2027, low confidence (one cycle observed) |
| Rolling? | No rolling language appears in the postings we read. The pattern is a single wave with a scheduled end date; postings can be extended, so confirm on the posting |
| Eligibility | Enrolled in a degree-seeking program (Early careers page). Degree wording varies by posting, for example a bachelor's in a technical field for the sales interns. Visa sponsorship: all 17 postings say Red Hat won't provide it now or in the future. GPA: not stated |
| Duration | U.S. internship program: 12 weeks, May to August. Engineering co-op: 8 months, January to August or May to December cohorts |
| Compensation | Not published. None of the 17 postings lists pay, and the Early careers page doesn't state it |
| Return offers | Not published. A former intern on Reddit says many interns return as full-time employees (community report, not Red Hat data) |
| Locations | Raleigh NC (most postings), Boston MA, Lowell MA, Durham NC and Tysons Corner VA. The program card says Remote and In-office; the postings we read list on-site |
| # Programs | 17 U.S. postings across 15 role titles: software engineering intern and co-op, product, sales, finance and business analysis, and marketing. Programs outside the U.S. are not covered here |
Last updated: October 2026
Red Hat's summer 2027 internships are open right now. Seventeen U.S. intern and co-op postings went up on Red Hat's own job system on September 8 and 10, 2026, in Raleigh, Boston, Lowell, Durham and Tysons Corner, across 15 role titles from software engineering to sales, finance and marketing. Every posting we read carries the same scheduled end date of November 13, 2026, none lists pay, and all 17 say Red Hat won't provide visa sponsorship now or in the future. In plain words: you apply during 2026, you intern in summer 2027, a 12-week program from May to August.
What Is a Red Hat Internship?
A Red Hat internship is a student placement at Red Hat, the open source software company based in Raleigh, North Carolina. Red Hat is an IBM subsidiary, and our IBM internship guide covers IBM's own program; Red Hat runs its own Emerging Talent team, careers site and job system, so U.S. students apply to Red Hat directly. The U.S. internship is a 12-week cohort program from May to August, and an 8-month engineering co-op runs alongside it. Interns work in engineering, product, sales, finance and marketing. Red Hat doesn't publish a class size or a conversion rate.

When Do Red Hat Internship Applications Open for 2027–2028?
Red Hat posted its summer 2027 internships in one wave. The job system's start dates show 14 U.S. postings on September 8, 2026 and 3 on September 10, and every one carries an end date of November 13, 2026, set per posting by Red Hat. That's about 10 weeks open, and about 8 months before a May 2027 start. We couldn't read prior-cycle posting dates, because archived copies of Red Hat's job board don't exist, so the summer 2028 window is a projection from one cycle: early to mid September 2027, with low confidence. A Reddit commenter who says they work at Red Hat says interviews for summer interns start in November.
Red Hat posted 17 U.S. intern and co-op postings on its own job system: 14 on September 8 and 3 on September 10.
Applications are open for the 12-week summer 2027 program and the 8-month engineering co-op. Postings span Raleigh, Boston, Lowell, Durham and Tysons Corner.
Scheduled end date on every posting we read. It isn't stated as a deadline in the posting text, and Red Hat can extend it, but plan to apply well before.
A Reddit commenter who says they work at Red Hat says interviews for summer interns start in November. The cohort starts in May 2027 and runs 12 weeks.
Summer 2028 postings expected, if the 2026 pattern repeats. We've observed only one cycle, so treat this as low confidence and watch Red Hat's job board from late August.
How to read this page: our dates come from tracking previous recruiting cycles and daily posting data. Treat them as informed estimates based on historical patterns, not confirmed dates. The company's official careers page is always the most current source. If a role is posted there, go by that, even if this page suggests the window hasn't opened yet.
Why You Must Apply the Week Applications Open
Red Hat's postings describe a single wave, and the evidence points to an end rather than a rolling pool. All 17 postings were scheduled to end on November 13, 2026 in Red Hat's job system, and the posting text contains no rolling or deadline wording either way. We read that date as a scheduled end, not a promise, since postings can be extended. Add the Reddit report that interviews begin in November, and the safe move is to apply in October. That leaves 18 days from October 26 to the scheduled end.
Which Red Hat Internship Programs Should You Target?
Red Hat posts by role, so the table groups the 17 U.S. postings by track. Each posting has its own description and requirements.
| Track | Postings | Duration | Key details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Software Engineering Intern | 1 posting, Raleigh, Boston, Lowell or Durham | 12 weeks, May to August | Python, Golang or similar; work with a senior mentor on products such as RHEL or OpenShift; cohort learning in Ansible, RHEL, OpenShift and AI |
| Software Engineer Co-op | 1 posting, Raleigh, Boston or Lowell | 8 months; January to August or May to December | Enrolled in a degree-seeking program with basic knowledge of software engineering |
| Product | Technical Product Intern (3 locations) and Product Manager Intern (2 locations) | 12 weeks | Product work alongside engineering and product teams |
| Sales and commercial | Global Commercial Sales Intern (2), Tech Sales Intern, Commercial Programs Analyst, Deal Lifecycle Analyst, Deal Management Analyst | 12 weeks | Bachelor's in a technical field on the sales postings; Raleigh, plus Tysons Corner for Tech Sales |
| Finance and business analysis | Finance Business Analyst Intern and Business Analyst Intern | 12 weeks | Raleigh; analytical roles |
| Marketing and AI ecosystem | Events, Digital Strategist, NA Field Marketing, and AI Ecosystem Intern (2, Boston) | 12 weeks | AI Ecosystem postings ask for graduation in December 2026 or later and December 2027 or later |
Browse every posting on Red Hat's job board. Red Hat also runs a separate high school internship and graduate programs, which aren't covered here.
What Are the Eligibility Requirements?
The Early careers page sets the baseline, and each posting adds its own requirements. We read all 17 U.S. postings on October 26, 2026.
• Enrollment: enrolled in a degree-seeking program, for both the internship and the co-op.
• Degree wording: it varies. The sales postings ask for a bachelor's in a technical field such as computer science, data science or IT; the Events posting lists business, marketing, communications or data analytics.
• Class year: not a general rule. The two AI Ecosystem postings give graduation windows of December 2026 or later and December 2027 or later.
• Visa sponsorship: all 17 postings say Red Hat won't provide it now or in the future, so students who will need sponsorship later are excluded.
• GPA: not stated in any posting.

Can International Students Apply?
The postings are explicit: they require the ability to work without current or future visa sponsorship. A Reddit commenter who says they work at Red Hat remembered that candidates needing sponsorship generally aren't recruited for internships, which matches the posting text. International students who already have work authorization without sponsorship can apply. Check the sentence on the posting before you start.
Profile Match · Extern Data
Could You Get In at Red Hat? Compare Your Profile
Based on 403 software engineering interns who started their first software internship between 2024 and 2026 (public LinkedIn profiles, aggregated). Six questions, under a minute.
Which summer are you applying for?
Recruiting timelines differ by class year, so we compare you with the right group.
Which group is your school closest to?
Firms recruit on campus in tiers. We match you against admits from schools like yours.
Is your major computer science, software engineering, data science or electrical engineering?
Almost every software intern in our data studied one of these. Other majors get in, but the coursework has to show elsewhere.
How many internships, externships or research positions have you held so far?
Count anything with a real employer, mentor or principal investigator attached. Retail and food service do not count.
Has any of that experience been tech-related?
Software, data, IT, engineering or a research lab. Any size of company counts.
Do you have at least one project on your resume or LinkedIn?
Personal, class, hackathon or open-source projects all count.
Aggregated from public LinkedIn profiles of people who held the internship. No individual profile is shown. Read the cross-industry study of 2,500+ intern profiles.
What Skills Does Red Hat Look For, and How Do You Build Them?
With one tenant and a handful of full descriptions, these themes come from the postings, not a survey. The software engineering posting names Python or Golang, GitHub, Java, JavaScript and Agile, with learning in Ansible, RHEL, OpenShift and AI. The sales and commercial postings ask for Excel or Tableau as a plus, program management basics such as tracking and reporting, and written and spoken English. Every posting describes teamwork inside a cohort or team.
Note: Red Hat's postings share templates by track, and we read only some of the descriptions in full, so we don't show skill percentages. The tools listed come from the software engineering and sales postings.
How Is Demand for Software Engineer Interns Moving Right Now?
Software engineer intern postings · Sep vs Aug 2026
vs 790 in August
For Red Hat applicants: Red Hat's own job board listed 153 openings on October 26, 2026, and 17 were U.S. intern or co-op postings, all posted September 8 or 10, so its wave is already live rather than still to come.
Daily US job-posting counts, Sep 1–30 vs Aug 1–31, 2026. Covers under half of US postings; shows direction, not market size.
Build These Skills Before You Apply
Each track maps to a remote Externship you can finish while the postings are still open.
| Skill (from real JDs) | JD evidence | Externship that builds it |
|---|---|---|
| Databases and backend fundamentals | Software engineering posting: Python or Golang, debugging, features in products such as RHEL | SQL & Database Architecture with Breaking Games |
| Product management | Technical Product Intern and Product Manager Intern postings | BeReal Product Management |
| Finance and deal analysis | Finance Business Analyst, Deal Management and Deal Lifecycle Analyst postings | Attronica Financial Planning & Analysis and Private Company Valuation |
| Marketing and consumer insight | Events, Digital Strategist and Field Marketing postings | Health-Ade (Generous Brands) Consumer Behavior & Insights |
| Data analysis | Business Analyst and Commercial Programs Analyst postings | ARCeH Data Analytics, Health Outcomes |
| Partnerships and sales | Global Commercial Sales and Tech Sales postings | Khan Academy Strategic Partnerships & Growth |
The fit is loosest on the engineering track: no open Externship teaches Linux, Ansible or OpenShift, so build that proof on your own.
What Is the Red Hat Application and Interview Process Like?
Red Hat's pages describe how to find and apply for postings, and one employee comment fills in the timing.
1. Search. Use the Early careers page to search entry-level and internship openings, or go straight to the job board.
2. Apply. Apply to the specific posting. Join the Talent Community to be told about future openings.
3. Interviews. A Reddit commenter who says they work at Red Hat says interviews for summer interns start in November. Red Hat doesn't publish the stages.
4. Start. The U.S. internship cohort runs May to August 2027, 12 weeks.
Red Hat has an Our hiring process page, but it doesn't publish intern-specific questions or timing.
What Students on Reddit Say
Three first-hand threads from r/redhat, paraphrased. Two are from 2025 and 2026, one from 2023.
A former intern said the internships are largely hybrid with interns based in Raleigh and Boston, and that they saw the announcement around March through a college IT mailing list. They called the experience great and said many interns return later as full-time employees.
A commenter who says they work at Red Hat said interviews for summer interns start in November, so start checking the jobs page in October, and recalled that candidates needing visa sponsorship aren't generally recruited for internships. This is unverified; the 2026 postings do say no sponsorship.
In a 2023 thread from a student weighing a product management intern offer, current employees praised flexibility and work-life balance, while one said the company used to be better. Another commenter said they were accepted as a software engineering summer intern in Boston.
How Do You Stand Out at Red Hat?
First, apply to the specific posting that fits your major, because the sales, product and engineering postings use different requirements, and read the visa sentence before you spend time. Second, show open source familiarity if you apply for engineering: a pull request, a Linux project or a GitHub repository speaks to the Python, Golang and Linux frame in the posting. Third, apply in October, since the job system schedules the postings to end on November 13 and employees say interviews start in November. Red Hat doesn't publish class size, applicant counts or a conversion rate.

What Other Companies Should You Consider?
If you're weighing enterprise and infrastructure software, these employers recruit interns from the same pool:
Our tech internships guide for summer 2027 compares calendars across software and technology employers.

FAQ
Can I still apply for a summer 2026 Red Hat internship?
No. The summer 2026 program has run. The cycle open now is summer 2027: 17 U.S. intern and co-op postings went up September 8 and 10, 2026, for a May 2027 start, and Red Hat's job system schedules them to end on November 13, 2026.
When do Red Hat internship applications open?
The summer 2027 postings opened September 8 and 10, 2026. We couldn't read earlier cycles, so we expect summer 2028 postings in early to mid September 2027, with low confidence. Join Red Hat's Talent Community, and check the job board from late August.
Is there a deadline for Red Hat internships?
The postings state none, but Red Hat's job system schedules all 17 U.S. postings to end on November 13, 2026. Postings can be extended, so confirm on the posting. A commenter who says they work at Red Hat says interviews start in November, so apply in October.
How much do Red Hat interns get paid?
Red Hat doesn't publish intern pay. None of the 17 U.S. postings lists a range, and the Early careers page doesn't state one. Hourly figures on salary-review sites aren't Red Hat's, so we don't use them. Ask about pay during the recruiter conversation.
Does Red Hat sponsor visas for interns?
No. All 17 U.S. postings say Red Hat won't provide visa sponsorship for the position, and that candidates must be able to work without a need for current or future sponsorship. International students who already have work authorization without sponsorship can apply.
How long is a Red Hat internship?
The U.S. internship program is 12 weeks, with a May to August cohort. Red Hat also runs an 8-month engineering co-op, with January to August and May to December cohorts, for degree-seeking students with basic software engineering knowledge. Both are for students currently enrolled.
Is Red Hat's internship the same as IBM's?
No. Red Hat is an IBM subsidiary but runs its own Emerging Talent team, careers site and job system, and U.S. students apply to Red Hat directly. IBM's own internship program is covered in our separate IBM internship guide.
Do Red Hat interns get full-time offers?
Red Hat doesn't publish a conversion rate or class size. A former intern on Reddit says many interns return as full-time employees, but that's a community report, not Red Hat data. Treat any percentage you see on job-board or review sites as unverified.
Pick the posting that matches your major and apply in October, before the scheduled November 13 end. While you wait, a remote Externship gives you a finished project to talk about in the interview.
About the Author
Bifei Wang has spent 17 years focused on human flow and the growth of young professionals, spanning international education, career training and coaching, and recruitment process outsourcing. Over 7 years at Extern, he has had one-on-one sessions with thousands of students exploring careers in consulting, finance, tech, marketing, and data, giving him a firsthand view of how the job market has shifted for early-career professionals and what it actually takes to break in.


