Quick Facts
Astera Labs internship · at a glance
First US postings August 27, 2026; 45 of 62 by September 9; the newest October 22. Apply early, and check the portal for every live role.
Before you applyWould your profile get you in?6 questions, under a minute. Compared with real interns who landed similar roles.Check my oddsAlso in this guide
Put real project work on your résumé, with the SQL & Database Architecture Externship with Breaking Games or the Attronica Financial Planning & Analysis and Private Company Valuation Externship.
Explore all externships →All quick facts
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Where to apply | Astera Labs's Early Career 2027 board (Greenhouse), entered from the Early Career Programs page. Don't rely on the main careers list, which shows no US interns: its only intern postings are in Tel Aviv and Taipei |
| Application window (2027–28) | Open now for summer 2027 (the postings don't name a start date). First US postings August 27, 2026; 45 of 62 by September 9; the newest October 22. One off-cycle posting for a January 2027 start (Packaging Automation & Data Engineering) went up September 25. Summer 2028: expected from late summer 2027, low confidence |
| Rolling? | Not stated by Astera. No posting names a deadline, and postings went up continuously from August 27 to October 22, so we treat hiring as posting by posting |
| Eligibility | Currently pursuing a Bachelor's or Master's degree in a relevant field (some postings also accept PhD students); class year, GPA and work authorization aren't stated in the US postings. Fully in-office |
| Duration | Not published for US postings. Start and end dates aren't stated |
| Compensation | $35 to $55 an hour depending on education level in 57 of 62 US postings; two list $38 to $46 an hour and one lists $47 to $70 an hour; two state no range. A $500-per-week housing and relocation stipend for the duration of the internship appears in 60 of 62, worded as what U.S. interns "currently" receive |
| Return offers | Not published. Astera also posts 15 full-time new college graduate roles, which are separate from the internships |
| Locations | San Jose, California (58 postings, one allowing Irvine as an alternative) and Cary, North Carolina (4). On site. Canadian intern and co-op postings exist but are outside this guide |
| # Programs | One Early Career program with 62 US intern postings across ASIC, hardware, firmware, software, AI, applications and 18 business and operations roles; 15 new college graduate roles are separate |
Last updated: October 2026
Astera Labs's US summer 2027 internships are open now. Sixty-two US intern postings went up between August 27 and October 22, 2026, in San Jose, California and Cary, North Carolina, and 45 of them within the first two weeks. The postings call it a paid, hourly internship: $35 to $55 an hour depending on education level in 57 of the 62, plus a $500-per-week housing and relocation stipend that U.S. interns "currently receive." Most roles are engineering, but 18 are in finance, HR, procurement, marketing, sales and similar areas. The postings live on a separate Early Career board, not on Astera's main careers list, which shows no US interns. In plain words: you apply during 2026, you intern in summer 2027, and no posting names a deadline, so apply early. This guide covers Astera Labs, the chip company (NASDAQ: ALAB), not Astera Software or the Astera Institute.
What Is an Astera Labs Internship?
An Astera Labs internship is a paid, on-site summer placement at a Silicon Valley company that builds connectivity chips for AI infrastructure. Astera describes itself as providing "rack-scale AI infrastructure through purpose-built connectivity solutions", with products on CXL, Ethernet, NVLink, PCIe and UALink. Its Early Career Programs page covers internships and new college graduates, and says interns "don't just shadow, they contribute." The postings add Early Career programming with technical and professional-development sessions, community events and an end-of-program project presentation. Astera doesn't publish a class size or a conversion rate.

When Do Astera Labs Internship Applications Open for 2027–2028?
Astera posted this wave over eight weeks. The first US intern postings went public on August 27, 2026, 45 of the 62 were up by September 9, and the newest arrived October 22. Those are Greenhouse first-published dates, an official posting timestamp for each. The postings give no start date, so we can't compute the lead time exactly; for an assumed early-June start, the main burst around September 8 sits about 8.5 months ahead. We couldn't find the summer 2026 postings on Astera's own pages: last year's Early Career board now holds only three non-US postings. Archived captures of Astera's main board show internship postings in September and November 2024, so the fall timing recurs, but the summer 2028 window is a projection from one fully documented cycle.
Applications are open for 62 US intern postings on the Early Career 2027 board: 58 in San Jose and 4 in Cary. We re-checked the board's API on October 26, 2026. Astera's main careers board shows none of them.
Apply to the specific posting you want. No posting names a deadline, but 45 of 62 went up in the first two weeks and the newest arrived October 22, so hiring runs posting by posting. Pay is set by education level, not by role, so choose on fit.
Astera doesn't publish its interview process or offer timing. One off-cycle internship, Packaging Automation & Data Engineering, starts in January 2027 and was posted September 25. A Reddit commenter who interviewed said the process gets straight into technical questions.
The internships run on site in San Jose or Cary. The postings mention Early Career programming and an end-of-program project presentation, and a $500-per-week housing and relocation stipend. Astera hasn't published start dates or length.
Summer 2028 postings expected, if the 2026 pattern repeats. Astera runs a new Early Career board each year (a 2026 board still exists), so expect a new board name and search the Early Career Programs page. Low confidence: one documented cycle.
How to read this page: our dates come from tracking previous recruiting cycles and daily posting data. Treat them as informed estimates based on historical patterns, not confirmed dates. The company's official careers page is always the most current source. If a role is posted there, go by that, even if this page suggests the window hasn't opened yet.
Why You Must Apply the Week Applications Open
Astera's postings are filled one at a time, and none shows a deadline. The pattern of when they went up is the evidence: 45 of the 62 US postings appeared between August 27 and September 9, and the board kept adding postings through October 22. That tells you teams are still hiring, but it doesn't tell you how long a given posting stays open, and Astera doesn't say. Apply this week to the posting that fits, and apply to more than one if your degree allows it.
Which Astera Labs Internship Programs Should You Target?
Astera has one Early Career program, but its postings fall into engineering and business families. The table groups the 62 US postings; the last row isn't an internship.
| Program | Focus | Duration | Key details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Silicon and firmware engineering interns | ASIC engineering (the largest group, 13 postings), design verification, physical design, SerDes, firmware, packaging, test | Summer 2027; length not published | San Jose; $35 to $55/hr in most; Python, SystemVerilog and C++ common |
| Hardware engineering interns | Hardware design, electrical validation, signal integrity, optical, mechanical, NPI and lab strategy | Summer 2027; length not published | San Jose; $35 to $55/hr in most; one analog mixed-signal posting lists $47 to $70/hr |
| Software, AI and platform interns | Platform software diagnostics, applied AI (silicon and non-silicon), performance engineering, platform solutions in Cary | Summer 2027; length not published | San Jose and Cary; four Cary postings cover computer, electrical and mechanical engineering and product management |
| Business and operations interns (18 postings) | Finance, HR and recruiting, procurement and supply chain, marketing, sales, data analytics, facilities, IT security | Summer 2027; length not published | San Jose; for example Data Analytics Intern and Finance Intern (Accounting) |
| Packaging Automation & Data Engineering Intern (Spring 2027, January start) | Off-cycle internship in packaging automation and data engineering | Spring 2027 term | San Jose; posted September 25, 2026 |
| New college graduate (NCG) roles (full-time, not internships) | 15 full-time roles, all US, on the same board | Full-time | Not internships; check the title before you apply |
Browse everything on Astera's Early Career 2027 board, and filter by location for San Jose and Cary.
What Are the Eligibility Requirements?
Astera's US postings share a short list of requirements, which we read on October 26, 2026.
• Degree: currently pursuing a Bachelor's or Master's degree in a relevant field. Some postings, such as Business Operations and cybersecurity, also accept PhD students.
• Class year: not stated. Some postings add that the degree is completed or expected by the start date.
• GPA: not stated.
• Work authorization: the US postings don't mention sponsorship, visas or citizenship. Canadian postings say candidates must be authorized to work in Canada.
• Location: on site, "fully in-office", in San Jose, California or Cary, North Carolina.

Is It Only for Engineering Students?
No. Engineering dominates, but 18 of the 62 US postings are in finance, HR and recruiting, procurement and supply chain, marketing, sales and business development, data analytics, facilities and IT security. Each lists its own preferred background, so read the posting. The company's own page also says its programs run "from high school to college graduates", but we found no high school posting on either board.
Profile Match · Extern Data
Could You Get In at Astera Labs? Compare Your Profile
Based on 403 software engineering interns who started their first software internship between 2024 and 2026 (public LinkedIn profiles, aggregated). Six questions, under a minute.
Which summer are you applying for?
Recruiting timelines differ by class year, so we compare you with the right group.
Which group is your school closest to?
Firms recruit on campus in tiers. We match you against admits from schools like yours.
Is your major computer science, software engineering, data science or electrical engineering?
Almost every software intern in our data studied one of these. Other majors get in, but the coursework has to show elsewhere.
How many internships, externships or research positions have you held so far?
Count anything with a real employer, mentor or principal investigator attached. Retail and food service do not count.
Has any of that experience been tech-related?
Software, data, IT, engineering or a research lab. Any size of company counts.
Do you have at least one project on your resume or LinkedIn?
Personal, class, hackathon or open-source projects all count.
Aggregated from public LinkedIn profiles of people who held the internship. No individual profile is shown. Read the cross-industry study of 2,500+ intern profiles.
What Skills Does Astera Labs Look For, and How Do You Build Them?
Three themes run through the 62 US postings. Communication and collaboration: 60 mention communication, and every posting describes working with a team. Engineering tooling: Python appears in 39 postings, debugging in 39 and C or C++ in 22, while PCIe, Ethernet or CXL protocols come up in 30. Data work: 33 postings mention data analysis, and the Data Analytics posting names SQL and Azure Data Factory. Hardware roles add Verilog, SystemVerilog or VHDL and MATLAB, and the analog roles name simulation tools.
What Astera Labs looks for in interns
Skills across 62 Astera Labs intern & analyst job descriptions · live US intern postings, October 2026
Method: keyword count across the full text of the 62 US intern postings on Astera's Early Career 2027 board on October 26, 2026. Many postings share a template and ASIC and hardware roles dominate, so counts lean toward engineering.
How Is Demand for Hardware Engineer Interns Moving Right Now?
Hardware engineer intern postings · Sep vs Aug 2026
vs 31 in August
For Astera Labs applicants: Astera's own Early Career board listed 62 US intern postings on October 26, 2026, first published between August 27 and October 22, so its wave is already open rather than still to come.
Daily US job-posting counts, Sep 1–30 vs Aug 1–31, 2026. Covers under half of US postings; shows direction, not market size.
Build These Skills Before You Apply
Each skill below maps to a remote Externship you can finish while Astera's postings are open. None covers chip or hardware design, so these fit the business and data postings best.
| Skill (from real JDs) | JD evidence | Externship that builds it |
|---|---|---|
| SQL and data analysis | Data Analytics Intern: SQL and Azure Data Factory; Engineering Ops Technology Intern | SQL & Database Architecture with Breaking Games |
| Connected-device security | CyberSecurity Engineer Intern | Hydroficient Advanced: IoT Cyber Defense |
| Financial analysis | Finance Intern (Accounting); Business Acceleration Intern; Business Development Intern | Attronica Financial Planning & Analysis and Private Company Valuation |
| Supply chain and procurement | Supply Chain Analyst Intern; Procurement Intern | Amazon Fulfillment Center Operational Strategy & People Analytics |
| Marketing and consumer insight | Product Marketing Intern; Corporate Marketing Intern | Health-Ade (Generous Brands) Consumer Behavior & Insights |
The overlap is closest on the data and business rows. No open Externship teaches ASIC design, verification or hardware validation, so build those through coursework, a lab or a student team.
What Is the Astera Labs Application and Interview Process Like?
Astera doesn't publish its internship interview process, so these steps combine its postings with one community report.
1. Choose the posting. Each is its own team and role; pay is set by education level, not by role.
2. Apply on the Early Career board. Use the Greenhouse board, not the main careers list.
3. Interviews. Astera doesn't publish rounds. A r/csMajors commenter who interviewed in early 2024 (role not stated) said the questions go straight to technical topics and get deeper step by step.
4. Offer. The postings say the hourly rate is determined in the offer process and written into the offer letter.
5. Early Career programming. Interns attend technical and professional-development sessions and give an end-of-program project presentation.
Astera publishes no interview questions and no timing between steps.
What Students on Reddit Say
Reddit has two small threads, from 2024 and 2026. They're first-hand but narrow, so treat them as color, not data.
In a March 2026 thread, a sophomore holding offers from SpaceX and Astera Labs listed Astera's terms as community-reported: about $45 an hour plus $500 a week, around 40 hours, May to December, doing PCB design for ASIC testing. The poster said the team's contacts were vague. Most replies favored SpaceX, and one suggested asking Astera about an August to December co-op.
In a February 2024 thread from someone with a software or embedded interview, a commenter who had interviewed with Astera said it gets straight into technical questions and goes deeper step by step on each topic. The role type isn't stated, so use it as a sense of style, not a guide to your interview.
How Do You Stand Out for an Astera Labs Internship?
First, find the right board and the right posting. The main careers list shows no US interns, so applying there goes nowhere. Second, show hands-on work. A Reddit commenter in the ECE thread recommended joining a car team like Formula SAE, and the interview report says questions get technical fast, so be ready to go deep on a project you built. Third, if you're on the business side, pick the specific posting: 18 cover finance, HR, procurement, marketing, sales and data analytics. Astera doesn't publish an applicant count, class size or conversion rate.

What Other Companies Should You Consider?
If you're aiming at semiconductor and AI infrastructure companies, these employers recruit from the same pool:
Our tech internships summer 2027 guide compares calendars across software, AI and semiconductor employers.

FAQ
Can I still apply for a summer 2026 Astera Labs internship?
No. Summer 2026 internships ran last summer and are over. Summer 2027 is the cycle open now: 62 US postings went up between August 27 and October 22, 2026, on the Early Career 2027 board, and none names a deadline.
When do Astera Labs summer 2027 internship applications open and close?
The first US postings went public on August 27, 2026, 45 of 62 were up by September 9, and the newest arrived October 22. No posting states a deadline. We expect summer 2028 postings from late summer 2027, with low confidence, since we documented one cycle.
How much do Astera Labs interns earn?
Fifty-seven of the 62 US postings state $35 to $55 an hour depending on education level, set in the offer letter. Two list $38 to $46, one lists $47 to $70, and two state no range. Sixty also mention a $500-per-week housing and relocation stipend that U.S. interns currently receive.
Where do I apply for an Astera Labs internship?
Use the Early Career 2027 board on Greenhouse, linked from Astera's Early Career Programs page. Astera's main careers list shows no US interns, so searching there will suggest there's no internship. The board name changes by year, and the 2026 board now holds only three non-US postings.
Does Astera Labs have business internships?
Yes. Eighteen of the 62 US postings are outside chip and hardware design: finance, HR and recruiting, procurement and supply chain, marketing, sales and business development, data analytics, facilities and IT security. Each is a separate posting with its own team, so apply to the one that fits your degree.
Where are Astera Labs internships located?
San Jose, California has 58 of the 62 US postings, and one allows Irvine as an alternative. Cary, North Carolina has four platform solutions postings. The postings describe the internship as fully in-office, and the housing stipend is meant to help with relocation.
Does Astera Labs sponsor visas for interns?
The US postings don't say. We found no sponsorship, visa or citizenship language in the US posting texts we read, and no GPA requirement. Don't assume either way. Ask the recruiter about work authorization early in the process, and confirm the answer before you plan around it.
Do Astera Labs interns get full-time offers?
Astera doesn't publish a conversion rate or class size. It posts 15 full-time new college graduate roles on the same board, which are separate from the internships. Treat any percentage on job-board or review sites as unverified, because it isn't coming from Astera.
Apply to the posting that fits your degree this week, using the Early Career 2027 board. While you wait, a remote Externship gives you a finished data or finance project to discuss in the interview.
About the Author
Bifei Wang has spent 17 years focused on human flow and the growth of young professionals, spanning international education, career training and coaching, and recruitment process outsourcing. Over 7 years at Extern, he has had one-on-one sessions with thousands of students exploring careers in consulting, finance, tech, marketing, and data, giving him a firsthand view of how the job market has shifted for early-career professionals and what it actually takes to break in.


